#114 Coronado – Mermaid’s Red

Name: Mermaid’s Red
Brewery:  Coronado Brewing Company
Style: Amber Ale
ABV: 5.7%
Source: Galbraith’s Ales

I’m afraid I’m on the tipsier side of sober as I sit down down to write this blog (I’ll tell you why in the next post), so will try and get through this with as much grace and speed as possible.

Recognise those green walls in the back of that photo? Yeah. That’s my home-away-from home, Galbraith’s Ales. I was there to meet a friend for a beer (just one beer that turned into four), and, after the obligatory pint of Croucher Reserve, I picked this out as my beer for the day.

As soon as I smelled it I thought of those hard chocolate-covered caramel lollies that you get in dollar mixes (or at least you would, if it was 1997), so it was caramally and chocolaty, and a bit fruity too.

In the mouth there was caramel sweetness, more chocolate and stonefruit, and a slightly unusual flavour that I couldn’t put my finger on. The finish and aftertaste were bitter, and made me do that thing where you screw up your face and try to wipe your tongue clean on your lips. You know what I mean? No? I shouldn’t try to describe beer when I’m already half drunk? You are.

This wasn’t as bad as I make it sound – I actually enjoyed it just fine. But as I have mentioned in the past I am irrevocably in love with Coronado’s Islander IPA, and this one was a bit of a let down after that.

In other news, guess which effeminate child stars are trying their hands at brewing and releasing an IPA called MMMhop!?

It could only be…

If anyone has the means to acquire this beer and pass it on to me, I will shower you in gold, frankencense & myrrh(whatever that is) in return. Well actually probably not because I don’t have any of those things. But I would send you a free e-card or something.

Published in: on December 1, 2011 at 10:54 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/114-coronado-mermaids-red/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I don’t know what the distribution will be like on MMMHop, but if I can get it I’ll do my best to send a bottle for you and Victoria to share (I’ve promised I’d send her one and this is killing two birds with one stone really!).


Leave a Reply

