#113 Fullers – Past Masters XX

Fullers Past Master XXName: Past Masters XX Strong Ale
Brewery: English Strong Ale
Style: English Strong Ale
Brewery: Fullers (London, England)
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

This is a beer that’s been sitting in my cupboard for a few weeks, but which I’ve been putting off drinking for two main reasons.

One is that I was intimidated. “XX Strong Ale” sounds like something a pirate should drink – and although I do have a pet parrot that sits on my shoulder a lot of the time, I do not have the drinking capacity of a pirate.

Reason number two is that this was a beer that Kieran at Regionals (who has picked out lots of great beers for me to drink so far) really really loves, so I knew it would be great. Truly great beers require long blog posts and creative use of adjectives, so they can actually be kind of a pain in the ass.

Anyway, I got home last night and I just thought “f*ck it, I’m ready” and slammed my Big Boy pint glass down on the bench. Then I poured it carefully and took a picture.

As you can see, it poured an almost ruby-tinted amber colour with a loose, fluffy tan head.

On the nose I got sweet, Mackintosh toffee malt, and some hop fruitiness – maybe peach. In the mouth it was really malty and sweet with a spicy little hop bite at the finish.
There were glimpses of raw alcohol which I didn’t like so much, but the otherwise pleasant taste and luxurious mouthfeel (soft and creamy) more than made up for it.

I probably don’t like this beer as much as Kieran does (but then, I am a complete n00b by comparison), or even as much as as the Fullers IPA I had the night before, but offer me another and I’ll happily hold out my glass. (Obviously I will hold out my glass for almost any beer so that doesn’t mean much, but actually this is real yum.)

PS – Just kidding about the parrot! I wish.

Published in: on December 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/113-fullers-past-masters-xx/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Everyone has thier own tastes, your not less worthy if you dont share mine!

    I don’t tend to share the common love of hop bombs that tend to characterise the craft world at the moment, doesnt mean Im right or wrong its just a matter of personal taste.

    (although really ,I am right! 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

