#100 Yeastie Boys – Pot Kettle Black

Yeastie Boys Pot Kettle BlackName: Pot Kettle Black
Brewery: Yeastie Boys (contract brewed at Invercargill Breweries)
Style: Black IPA
ABV: 6%
Source: Forrest Hill Liquorland

“If Wellington brewer Stu McKinlay was a beer, he reckons he’d be an Orval – complex, unusual and worth getting to know”

So began my first ever published article, which ran in The Wellingtonian just prior to the release of Pot Kettle Black in 2009.

It was the beginning of a journalism career that would take me to Oamaru, Kapiti and beyond – but more importantly, it marked the beginning of my foray, my serious foray at least – into the world of craft beer.

The interview with Stu (who is one half of the Yeastie Boys, the other is Sam Possenniskie) taught me a lot. First and foremost – don’t get drunk while you interview someone or you are likely to forget that your dictaphone is off. Secondly – always check your dictaphone.

But he also described beer in a way that made me thirsty (he said PKB was like liquified orange chocolate cake), told me about beer styles I never knew existed (smoked beer for one), and probably a whole heap of other great stuff that I can’t remember because I was a bit drunk and my dictaphone was off.

A few weeks later I came to the Malthouse to try the Pot Kettle Black, which was delicious and quite unlike any dark beer I’d had before. I guess it might have been hoppier, but I wouldn’t have known that back then.

From there things progressed pretty quickly – I went to Beervana a week or so later, tried my first smoked beer (the outrageously good Invercargill Smokin’ Bishop), and quickly established myself as a Malthouse regular. It would probably have happened at some point anyway, but you could say that thanks to the Pot Kettle Black, I was hooked.

Enough self-indulgent waffling about myself though, and back to the present day. Because of all that, I decided I wanted to have the PKB as my 100th beer (actually I wanted my own homebrew, but it wasn’t ready), as it seemed like an appropriate way to mark the milestone.

The PKB I drank on Thursday was even richer, fuller, better than I remember it. I don’t know if it’s my taste or the beer that’s changed, or whether a little more time in the bottle has done it some good, but I’d say it’s probably a little of everything.

This one poured black and opaque with a tan head. It smelled of roasty malt, bitter chocolate and berries. In the mouth there was toffee and chocolaty sweetness at first, which gave way to a punchy, grapefruit and resinous hop flavour. The bright, bitter finish worked wonderfully to balance out the rich porter charactaristics, and the result is a beer that’s both satisfying and moreish.

So there we are. I’ve officially reached triple digits on the blog, which feels like a great achievement until I remember I still have 265 to go.  Still, probably worth having a beer to celebrate, right?

Published in: on November 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/100-yeastie-boys-pot-kettle-black/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. If you like the PKB, you’ll love the PKB Remix! Be sure to track a bottle of that lovely drop (either 2010 or 2011, both are equally good) to share (750ml) with friends. Stu and Sam are destined for great things in the beer world.


Leave a Reply

