#98 Mt Froth – I.P.A

Mt Froth IPA Name: I.P.A
Brewery: Mt Froth Brewing Co. (Wanaka, New Zealand)
Style: American I.P.A
ABV: 6.5%
Source: Mt Froth Brewing Co.

There is really nothing better than receiving homebrew in the post.

OK, so it’s only happened twice. But both times I’ve been delighted at the homemade labels, amused at excessive amounts of packaging that the brewer has used to ensure their babies arrive safely, and astounded at how good the stuff inside tastes.

‘Mt Froth Brewing Co’, aka David Ball, is an old friend of mine from high school who now lives in Wanaka. Like me, he’s always been a big foodie, but unlike me he’s really really good at cooking. He studied Food Science at Otago University, which seems to be a natural precursor for lots of brewers in NZ, so it’s really no surprise at all that he’s making homebrew now. Really good homebrew, it would seem.

This is the second I.P.A Dave’s made, and he’s used US Simcoe, NZ Riwaka, and NZ Casacde hops. He tells me all his beers use unfiltered spring water from a source on the edge of lake Wanaka, which is pretty hard and ideal for hoppy ales.

You can see it pours a lovely deep, orangey marmalade colour, slightly hazy with a frothy white head. It smelled really fruity – but complex. I got those American citrus and resiny pine characteristics, but also ripe tropical fruit – pineapple in particular. Was it a bit floral too? Possibly. I’m not the best at picking these things apart, but basically the smell made me think of Hawaii.

In the mouth there was there was a light, caramel sweetness from the malt, balanced with a dry hop bitterness that lingered after I swallowed. It was medium bodied and lightly carbonated, and very easy to drink.

I told Dave I was going to send him some of my homebrew when it was ready, but after trying his I think I’d be a bit embarrassed. Instead I think I need to find an excuse to go down to Wanaka and get him to show me how he does it. And maybe steal a bit of that fancy spring water, too!

Published in: on November 15, 2011 at 2:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/98-mt-froth-i-p-a/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

