#96 Kaimai – Pale Ale (NZ Cascade)

Name: New Zealand Cascade Hopped Pale Ale
Brewery: Kaimai Brewing (Mt Manganui, New Zealand)
Style: Pale Ale
ABV: 6.8%
Source: Waiheke Wines

I picked up this Kaimai Pale Ale at Waiheke Wines yesterday. I didn’t really want to buy it because I thought the label looked a bit nasty, but this was the only thing I hadn’t tried and besides, picking beer for it’s label hasn’t always worked out in the past.

It poured a deep orangey/copper colour, slightly cloudy, with a decent white head (it had shrunk significantly by the time I found the right lighting for the photo.)

When I sniffed it, the first thing that came to mind was purple wine gums. I guess you could call this berries or stonefruit or candied sugar… but I’m calling it purple wine gums. There was quite a bit of caramel sweetness as well, and a hint of vodka-like booze.

In the mouth it felt full – lots of biscuity malt and a little citrussy bitterness at the finish. The raw alcohol smell wasn’t noticeable in the taste, and overall I thought it was a pretty well-rounded, easy-to-drink beer. My description of wine gums and vodka probably doesn’t have anyone chomping at the bit to try it, but just ignore me (and the label) and try it anyway. It’s actually pretty nice.

Published in: on November 13, 2011 at 6:47 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/96-kaimai-pale-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This beer is actually called ” NZ Cascade Hopped Pale Ale” its part of a series of pale ales that are meant to showcase individual hop varieties. There is a Southern Cross one out at the moment to.

  2. I’m starting to love NZ hops and I already love Cascade so I’d be really interested to see what the NZ terroir (I wish I could italicise that word) does to the awesome citrusy pineness of regular Cascades.

    I can tell my next trip back to NZ is going to be packed full of brewery visits and beer drinking. What I really need is someone like the Beer Mule, but in reverse.

  3. I actually kinda like the label, it looks like it was designed early 90’s or late 80’s

  4. I like the label. I didnt feel the beer lived up to it tho. If I wanted to give someone something to show them NZ Cascade it wouldnt be this.


Leave a Reply

