#89 8 Wired – Tall Poppy

Name: Tall Poppy
Brewery: 8 Wired
Style: India Red Ale
ABV: 7%
Source: Waiheke Wine Centre

Those who have been with me since the beginning might recall me going vaguely ballistic over my first 8 Wired beer – the lusciously tropical Hopwired.

Since then I’ve tried hard to tone down my swear words and exclamation marks, but  Søren Erikson (8 Wired’s Danish-born brewer) makes playing it cool pretty hard.

The Tall Poppy is the kind of beer that I’m loving most at the moment – packed full of that grapefruit/piney American hop flavour, but with just as much gooey toffee malt to support it. The mouthfeel is lovely – oily and full at first and then dry and bitter for the finish. It’s complex and bold with lots of personality, and suits its name to a T.

I’m not 100% sure but I’d say this is made with American hops, so I do hope it’s not going to be another casualty of TGAHS. Either way, I’d recommend hunting this down and trying some as soon as possible, because it really is f***ing delicious!!

Published in: on November 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/89-8-wired-tall-poppy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Tall Poppy is a beer that stands out as one of the best I had during my time in NZ – agree completely with your comments. 8-Wired are doing good things for beer! Whether they are affected by TGAHS will depend on whether or not they have a hop contract and I don’t know the answer to that one. I do know that some brews from Epic and Hallertau are going to be affected, which makes me sad.

  2. Definitely all American…f**k yeah!
    Warrior, Columbus, Simcoe, Amarillo…makes a delicious Beer!


Leave a Reply

