#88 Lindemans – Geuze Cuvée René

Lindemans GeuzeName: Geuze Cuvée René
Brewery: Brouwerij Lindemans (St Pieters Leeuw-Vlezenbeek, Belgium)
Style: Lambic – Geuze
ABV: 5%
Source: Brew on Quay (Auckland)

Like most beer-loving office-workers out there (or anyone who has lived and worked in England for a time), I’m quite partial to a pint with my lunch on Fridays.

When I was in England it was usually chips, a steak sandwhich and an Old Speckled Hen at the pub next door. Now in Auckland I can have any number of odd combinations – and yesterday it was sushi and a Geuze.

I didn’t really want a Geuze to be honest – I wanted something normal, like Bookie – but when I saw that Brew on Quay had two that weren’t Timmerman’s (the only kind I can find anywhere), I thought I had better just take it while I could.

I chose this one over the other because of it’s attractive, vaguely art-nouveau label. This and the fact it had a cork made it seem quite fancy, as did the (unanticipated) $18 price-tag. (Note to self – always check the menu first!)

It poured a clear, orangey gold with a stiff white head. It smelled like Dad’s hobbies in a glass – apple cider and musty books, with some old woody notes and a bit of vinegar as well.

It was fizzy, crisp and tart. Really tart in fact, with almost a complete absence of sugar.  The finish was bitter in a way that I found a bit jarring – like that  medicinal taste when you don’t get your panadol down in time.

I can appreciate that this is a special beer, and is probably adored by those with more sophisticated palates than mine… But  I must confess (pleb that I am) I don’t quite get it. Maybe I could force myself to drink it until I was converted – but at $18 a pop I’d have to live in a house made of Geuze bottles to make that viable.

Published in: on November 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/05/88-lindemans-geuze-cuvee-rene/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That label is very very nice indeed… reminds me a bit of the Wellington Rugby Union.


Leave a Reply

