#87 Coopers – Stout

Name: Extra Best Stout
Brewery: Cooper’s (Regency Park, SA, Australia)
Style: Stout
ABV: 6.5%
Source: Beer, Wines & Spirits (K Rd, Auckland)

I am really, really going to make this a quick post for once.

I had this yesterday, which was in fact International Stout Day. I’m not sure where this came from or why stout gets its own day and other beer styles don’t, and I’m not even going to Google it because I really have NO TIME!

I love the Coopers Stout. In fact, even though I buy the Sparkling Ale and Pale Ale more – this is probably my favourite. It’s punchy and decadent and bittersweet, with dark choclate and roasty coffee notes as well as a hint of marmite and dark fruits. Unlike some stouts which are a bit  rich and gloopy, it’s also refreshing enough to drink when you’re really thirsty (which I was). And, it’s only $5.99 for 750mls. Bloody ripper!

There. I just wrote a post in under 3 minutes flat. Now, like a marathon runner I go… off to drink today’s beer!

Published in: on November 4, 2011 at 12:28 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/87-coopers-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Actually IPA has it’s own day – it’s August 4th.

    I have no idea who comes up with these days, maybe it’s a drunk guy at Hallmark….

  2. It’s indeed a ripper. Good to see Cooper’s on the other side of the ditch. Following with interest.


Leave a Reply

