#85 Inzane Brewing – Caspa

Inzane Brewing CaspaName: Caspa
Brewery: Inzane Brewing
Style: Aotearoa Pale Ale (Christchurch, New Zealand)
ABV: 4.1%
Source: Zane himself

Today’s post is a very special one for Beer For a Year, as it’s the first (of what I hope will be many!) homebrews to appear on the blog.

This beer  -with it’s awesome Ghostbusters label – was sent to me by reader Zane (Inzane, geddit?) along with two other brews and a letter explaining what they were. It was quite literally the most exciting piece of mail I have received since the ‘care packages’ of my university days.

I know I’m going to sound like an ignoramus here, but I had never actually tasted good homebrew before. I realise there have been some amazing advances in the availability of homebrew products in recent years, and that Zane would likely be a better brewer than whatever stoned high school friend made the last stuff I tried, but still I was pretty gobsmacked at how nice it actually was.

Caspa poured a slightly cloudy amber colour with a large creamy head (even at this point I was amazed – it looked just like a bought one!) and smelled great – of those distinctly Kiwi, fruity hops, with some citrus and passionfruit at the forefront.

In the mouth those fresh, fruity hops came through with a bit of cut grass, softy malty sweetness and a dry – but not overly bitter – finish. It was on the lighter side at just 4.1%, which meant it was easy to drink and very ‘sessionable’ as they say. (In other words – if I was Zane and I had 20 or so litres of this in my house I’d be in trouble.)

I was so impressed/astounded that homebrew could taste this good that I made the others in the room try it too. One said “this would be great to drink after mowing the lawns”, the other called it “a quaffer” – and I think they’re both right.

Thanks very much Zane for sharing your lovely homebrew with me, it’s made me all sorts of excited about my own Pale Ale which is currently fermenting away in Greytown, and it’s got me keen to make my next batch using New Zealand hops instead.

On that note… If there are any other homebrewers (or indeed, commercial brewers!) out there that would like to help me out with this project, and in return get a whole 300 or so words about your beer on the internet, I am not one of those bloggers who proudly claim aversion to recieving free beer. I can’t promise to say that I like it – but I do promise to use a clean glass.

And hey, maybe I can even send you some of my beer in return? (Don’t laugh, it’s going to be delicious!)

Published in: on November 2, 2011 at 12:08 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/11/02/85-inzane-brewing-caspa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad you liked it! There are only a couple of bottles of that brew left at home as most of it disappeared in the first month in the bottle! Hoppy beers like this should be consumed fresh or they lose some of their hop zing!

    I have posted my notes on Caspa over here along with which hops and malts I used. http://inzanebrew.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/taste-notes-caspa/

    I think there are still a lot of people who associate the words “home brew” with “nasty and undrinkable” but there are a bunch of people making great home brew these days. Some of the current craft brew crop have come up through home brewing including Yeastie Boys, 8 Wired, Golden Ticket and others.

  2. Hey! I only got one bottle in my package… still, I suppose I didn’t write words on it and it wasn’t ‘just a bottle’ it was a 1.25L rigger.

  3. I’m sure I can arrange to ply you with homebrew at some point.

  4. […] Caspa – New Zealand Pale Ale. Brewed in September. As reviewed here by “Beer For A Year” – Gold […]


Leave a Reply

