#81 BrewDog – Punk IPA

Name: Punk IPA
Brewery: Brewdog (Aberdeenshire, Scotland)
Style: IPA
ABV: 6%
Source: Brew on Quay (Auckland)

Yesterday, (under the misguided impression that Epic’s new Flying Nun beer would be on tap), I headed down to Brew on Quay to mark the end of the working week with a pint.

Because it was actually Epic’s regular ol’ Pale Ale that was pouring (for just $6.50 a pint!), and because I’d already ticked that one off the list, I went for this Punk IPA from Brewdog instead. I’d had one beer from these guys before, the Hardcore IPA, and I remember thinking that one was ridiculously good.

It poured a slightly hazy amber and had a frothy white head which lasted quite well. It smelled to me like an APA – by which I mean citrussy American hops (grapefruit & pine), and a real treacley/golden syrupy malt. I may have been a bit off with this interpretation though, because I see the brewery (and the ratebeer crowd) describe aromas of lychee, kiwi and passionfruit. I’m not sure…

It tasted similar, but with a really noticeable cereal flavour as well. I actually wrote down ‘Chex’ which is an American cereal that I had once when I was about 9 and for some reason it keeps popping up in my beers – but I think Luke (he was there for the cheap pints of Epic ;)) described it more accurately when he said it was grainy. It also had a nice citrusy bite and a dry, lightly bitter finish.

I definitely enjoyed the punk, but much prefer it’s bigger, bolder brother – Hardcore IPA. This one is more sessionable I guess, but that other one is just such a pleasure to drink.

The one problem I had with this beer – and it doesn’t really matter but I’m going to say it anyway, was the description on the label. It just seemed a bit obvious and smarmy and not very punk somehow… Especially that line in red:

“This is not a lowest common denominator beer. This is an aggressive beer. We don’t care if you don’t like it. We do not merely aspire to the proclaimed heady heights of conformity through neutrality or blandness. It is quite doubtful that you have the taste of the sophistication to appreciate the depth, character and quality of this premium craft beer. You probably don’t even care that this rebellious beer contains no preservatives and uses only the finest natural ingredients. Just go back to drinking your mass marketed, bland, cheaply made watered down lager, and close the door behind you”.

It’s a good beer… Just let it speak for itself I say!

*closes door behind her*

Published in: on October 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/81-brewdog-punk-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I’m going to need to give this another try. When I had it either the beer line wasn’t clean or the keg was old and it was awful.

    Sometimes, I hate that I notice these things now.

  2. I’ve not really been taken by Hardcore – it is good but it was too sweet for me. But Punk, on tap at Sydney’s Local Taphouse in May, was one of the best IPA’s I’ve had all year. In a pub with so many great options it is rare for me to go back for a second… let alone a third.

    I’d not had many great experiences with Brewdog in the past but that week converted me from thinking that Brewdog were all woof. Every beer of theirs i tried was good and the Punk was great.

  3. It was probably a grey market import, next time check the date it was either brewed or bottled on, could be old or imported badly, having it on tap once it was nice, not amazing. I think it had suffered from traveling though.


Leave a Reply

