#79 Townshend – Bandsman

Townshend BreweryName: Bandsman
Brewery: Townshend (Upper Moutere, Nelson, New Zealand)
Style: English Bitter
ABV: 3.8%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington, New Zealand)

It’s a touch inappropriate that I drank this beer out of my Arrogant Bastard Ale glass, because I could hardly think of a less arrogant beer to go in it.

The Bandsman is the second beer I’ve tried from Martin Townshend and, like the Sutton Hoo which I went all sorts of crazy over, this a beer I could see myself settling down and having a long-term relationship with.

From it’s low alcohol volume to it’s soft carbonation and delicate hop perfume, everything about this beer is gentle. It didn’t get all in my face and scream “Hey! Look at me!” it just quietly and confidently charmed the pants off of me.

But what sort of a beer review is that? What I mean to say is – it had a lovely aromatic hop aroma (New Zealand I’d guess) – a bit fruity, a bit floral, and a biscuity malt sweetness to round everything out. It was soft and fairly light with a gentle hop bitterness at the finish. To say it was quaffable is an understatement – but that’s just fine because it’s only 3.8%!

I’m heading down to Nelson for work in a few weeks and I’m going to try my darndest to get over to Moutere to visit Townshend, and to have a few pints at the Moutere Inn. According to Wikipedia it’s New Zealand’s oldest pub to be still operating in it’s original building, and it has Townshend beers on hand-pull. Is it just me, or does that sound like the best place to drink beer ever?

Published in: on October 27, 2011 at 2:07 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/27/79-townshend-bandsman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love Martin’s beers to. Just a point, Martin doesnt actually own the Moutere Inn but as his local they do stock his beers and in cask conditioned form to boot!

    • Thanks – I just realised that as soon as I published and was editing furiously!

  2. If you give Martin a bit of advance warning he may be able to organise a brewery tour for you. The Old Moutere Inn is a great place to have a few hand pulled Townshend Ales. If you can get over there for an evening they even have cheap as accommodation. We stayed there at Easter and had a wonderful evening of live music, amusing locals and quaffing a whole lot of lovely craft beer. Best of all was being able to crawl upstairs to go to bed!

  3. The Moutere Inn is a win all around, we had a great time staying there last year. Also the Free House in Nelson is a must, it’s right up there with my favourite little pub in NZ, Albar in Dunedin.

    • Cool, can’t wait to check it out… And I’m going to Dunedin next week so I can go to Albar as well!

  4. Albar is very very cool.

  5. Martin’s brewery is amazing. If you manage to get a tout, you’ll be impressed! Catchcarts on cask is amazing. Make sure you find it!

  6. Tout?? Tour… 🙂


Leave a Reply

