#76 Timmermans – Tradition Geuze Lambic

Name: Geuze
Brewery: Timmermans (Belgium)
Style: Geuze
ABV: 5%
Source: Regional Wines

OK. I really don’t have much time so I will try to get through this post without going off on any tangents about why I was drinking Geuze instead of something somehow rugby related, or how this is Dad’s favourite style of beer but that I shunned it for ages because I associated it in my mind with the Timmerman’s Peche which I always found way too sweet – but actually if I went back and drank that now I’d probably quite like it because I’m always changing my mind about everything and-

ANYWAY.

On Sunday I drank this Geuze – I need not explain why. It poured a deep golden colour, slightly hazy from sediment, with a decent white head. It smelled like apple cider (real cider, not that Strongbow crap that I used to drink in London sometimes), with a hint of vinegar.

The taste is mostly of apples – slightly sweet at first, then acidic. It’s quite woody too – oak barrels I suppose. There’s something else… something I can’t quite put my finger on… hay? horse? Something a little farmy anyway.

In the mouth it feels light, dry, and quite fizzy. It’s cleansing and crisp, with quite a long, sour finish.

Do I like it? Yes I do. I understand there are more interesting (and probably more challenging) Geuze’s out there – that this is perhaps a gateway Geuze – but they’re so damn hard to find that I don’t have any others to compare it with.

And that’s got me thinking… Dad has lots of apple trees… Maybe we’ll just have to make one?

Published in: on October 24, 2011 at 10:39 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/76-timmermans-tradition-geuze-lambic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like you. I like your blog. That is why I have added it to my list of blogs in the bloggy interwepshere.

    • Well shucks, thanks!

      • I work with a guy from New Zealand—his name is Ralph—do you know him.

        That was a joke.

  2. yep trainner wheel Geuze. Sweetened with apple juice so maybe the cider allusion is apt.


Leave a Reply

