#73 – Tuatara IPA

Tuatara IPAName: Indian Pale Ale
Brewery: Tuatara (Waikanae, New Zealand)
Style: India Pale Ale
ABV: 5%
Source: Taste of NZ Festival (Auckland)

When my picture shows beer in a plastic cup, you can safely assume that I was having too good-a-time to properly make any notes and that the post that follows will be vague and packed with ‘filler’. For example:

Last night I went to Taste of NZ, which is a big foodie festival that’s on at Auckland’s Victoria Park at the moment. I had been fasting all day (that’s a lie, I had been eating lightly all day) so that I could stuff myself silly at it, so I nearly went mental with excitement when I got in the gates. There was food – good food – everywhere, and some of it was even free!

First things first – I needed a beer, so I made a beeline for the Tuatara stand:

Tuatara stand at Taste of NZ

I was really hoping they might have some of the new APA I’ve been so desperate to meet, but alas he hasn’t arrived in Auckland yet. I did pester the guy who served me about it, and he seemed to think a sneaky keg might make it’s way up to Galbraiths soon. Fingers crossed!

Since there was no APA, I went for the IPA instead. It was hoppy, bitter and quite citrusy, and a great first choice for the evening. That’s it though – that’s all I can say about the beer – because I was getting distracted by the wafting aromas of cooking meat and completely forgot to make any notes.

So to fill out this entry, I’ll just post pictures of some of the food I ate instead.

Slow roasted lamb shoulder with cauliflower puree - District Dining

Black vinegar glazed pork belly with bbq prawn

Black vinegar glazed pork belly with bbq prawn - District Dining

Venison steak hache slider, red onion & beetroot marmalade

Venison steak hache slider, red onion & beetroot marmalade - The Grove

Malaysian sago pudding with coconut cream and palm sugar - Monsoon Poon

Malaysian sago pudding with coconut cream and palm sugar - Monsoon Poon

Everything was SO YUM! I also had lots of little samples – some cheeses from Kapiti and Puhoi, salted caramel cupcakes from Petal, and more beer – the best being Moa’s Imperial Stout, which I’ll have to have a full bottle of when it’s not a school night.

I imagine my next posts will be just as vague and full of pictures as this one, because I’m going to be in beer heaven (Wellington) for the next three days. Tonight it’s the Malthouse (come and have a pint with me if you’re around), tomorrow the Pacific Beer Expo, and on Sunday my first attempt at homebrewing. Stay tuned!

Published in: on October 21, 2011 at 11:18 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/73-tuatara-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

