#72 Emerson’s – Brownville Brown

Name: Brownville Brown
Brewery: Emerson’s (Dunedin, New Zealand)
Style: Brown Ale
ABV:  5.8%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

Considering brown is my least favourite colour (followed closely by teal), I was wondering whether I could ever love a Brown Ale called Brownville Brown that arrived in a brown bottle and poured the colour of… brown.

But of course I could! Because I was going to drink the damn thing after all and not spray it all over my house as interior decoration, and in fact I decided to embrace the colour –  drinking a few sips of ‘Dubbel Bruin’ (so watery! my god!) beforehand, and even matching the Brownville with a piece of chocolate brownie. I practically threw a damn Brown Festival!

Of course, anything would have tasted pretty great after the Double Brown, but it turned out the beer was much more interesting than the colour. It smelled sweet and complex. There was some fruity hoppiness, chocolate, and roasty malt flavours with a hint of espresso. On the palate it was sweet and caramelly for a moment, then almost tart as more bitter roasty flavours came through, and the finish was drying and clean.

I guess you could say it was a bit like paint. I mean it didn’t taste like paint thank god, but it was multifaceted – as if a kid had taken tubes of all the paint colours and squirted them on the pallette and mixed it all up to make… brown.

To be honest, I don’t really know what I’m talking about. It’s Thursday afternoon and I’ve been building web pages all morning and I’ve written the word ‘brown’ too many times and now I have about as much brain functionality as a chicken. No, as a chicken sandwhich. 

Just try this beer. It’s nice.

Published in: on October 20, 2011 at 4:01 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/72-emersons-brownville-brown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

