#65 Pink Elephant – Pink’s Peculiar

Pink Elephant Pink's Peculiar Name: Pink’s Peculiar
Brewery: Pink Elephant (Blenheim, New Zealand)
Style: Traditional Ale
ABV: 8%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

OK, I’ve just smelled this beer and realised it’s going to be a weird one. Weird beers are always best documented with a ‘type as I taste’ post, so here goes…

As soon as I take the bottle cap off I smell the miso soup I had for dinner last night. I pour it (thick and black) and decide the aroma is really soy sauce. No, no, it’s VEGEMITE! Yes! Maybe just a little bit of chocolate and espresso, but mostly, definitely, vegemite.

It tastes-HOLY SHIT IT’S SOUR!! Wasn’t expecting that. My God. My saliva glands are going into hyperdrive as they try to cope with this sudden influx of acidity. It’s even… yes it is, a little bit salty on the tip of my tongue. What the hell kind of beer is this??

OK. Trying to discern some more flavours other than vegemite and sour. Basically it’s part porter (soy, coffee,chocolate) part sour fruit insanity – green plums and gooseberries. Yes.

The next question is, am I enjoying it?

God, too hard to tell. There’s so much going on. I’m drinking it, sure, but I think it’s for the intrigue rather than pleasure…

On second thoughts it’s really not bad. It reminds me a bit of the De Molen Hemel & Aarde, but I actually prefer this because of the sourness… It’s clean somehow – washes out your mouth and stops all those bizarre flavours from getting too overbearing.

Yes, yes actually I think I quite like it. But then – I like eating lemons by themselves (I used to take them to school in my lunch) so my judgement regarding sour things might be a little skewed.

I’ve just had a look at the bottle to see if it could shed any light as to what in God’s name this beer is supposed to be (it didn’t) but the description is so funny/bizarre that I have to share that as well.

Pink's Peculiar
I don’t know anything about Pink Elephant Brewery (mostly because they’re not on Twitter), but both beers that I’ve tried so far have been wonderfully odd. I can’t wait to get some more!

Published in: on October 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/66-pink-elephant-pinks-peculiar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved this, but I felt it as better blended down alittle.

    I wrote alittle about it here

    http://www.regionalwines.co.nz/beer-content.aspx/blend-it-yourself

    The link is commercial , apoligies if that seems like spam its not intended as such.

  2. p.s. Roger is wonderfully odd. The Ben Elton of NZ brewing.

    • I’d consider him more the Bruce Edgar of New Zealand brewing.


Leave a Reply

