#60 Renaissance – Discovery

Renaissance DiscoveryName: Discovery
Brewery: Renaissance (Blenheim, New Zealand)
Style: American Pale Ale
ABV: 4.5%
Source: O’Carrolls Freehouse

Apologies in advance for this post. I made terrible notes and now I’m so hungover that I can barely type the word ‘beer’ without shuddering.

I had this at O’Carrolls Freehouse with my mum and sister, who are turning into beer *shudder* geeks themselves and becoming pretty decent drinking buddies. Mum especially, since she quite often pays.

The Discovery poured  clear and golden with a small white head. It smelled of delicate fruity hops – mainly passionfruit I think. It was fairly bitter, and had a refreshing crisp mouthfeel. I can’t remember much else, but I do know I enjoyed it.

Also, I’m not exactly the highest authority in the land on b**r styles… but it didn’t seem particuarly American to me. I thought APA’s had more of a grapefruity/toffee quality, and this had the fruity bitterness that I associate with New Zealand Pale Ale’s. Like I said though, I probably don’t really know what I’m talking about…

What I can say with some authority, is that whatever kind of b**r it is you should drink it in moderation and with food.  I came to this realisation at about 1am this morning when I woke up to the worst fucking headache of my life (picture Dave Lombardo playing drums on your skull), owing to the 5 or 6 large, strong b**rs that had been my dinner. Not cool.

Phew. I made it to the end of the post without dying. Time to drink my beer *shudder* for today I guess…

Published in: on October 8, 2011 at 9:00 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/08/60-renaissance-discovery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. such a trooper. I admire your dedication

  2. Yep, your onto it. NZ hops.


Leave a Reply

