#57 Baird – Angry Boy Brown Ale

Baird Angry Boy Brown AleName: Angry Boy Brown Ale
Brewery: Baird (Numazu, Shizuoka, Japan)
Style: Brown Ale
ABV: 6.2%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

Me: Brown ale. Ugh. I hate brown ale.

*takes sip of Baird Angry Boy Brown Ale*

Me: Oh no wait, maybe I like brown ale.

That a little transcript of my thoughts (I’m a simple soul) as I went to drink yesterday’s beer. It’s becoming a regular thing, as every time I come to any kind of conclusion about a beer style, something comes along and turns it all upside down.

For example, I thought I didn’t like brown ale because the last two I’ve order have been a bit sweet and sluggish for me, so much so that I didn’t even finish them which is saying quite a lot. (I’m not a spittoon kinda gal.)

So I probably wouldn’t have picked this one (and in fact I didn’t – Kieran at Regionals did), but I’m glad I tried it because it was actually damn good.

It came in a bottle with super-cool artwork, and poured a hazy chocolaty-amber, with a loose, fluffy tan head.

The aroma took me by surprise – much more fragrant and hoppy than the brown ales I’ve had before. It smelled to me like caramel and citrus – mostly grapefruit I think.

On the tongue there was an initial hit of sweetness – malt, toffee, chocolate, then a burst of citrusy hops (I guess that’s the angry bit) which carries through to a lasting dry finish. Carbonation was quite low and the mouthfeel was velvety and smooth.

This is definitely the hoppiest and (I think) the most interesting brown ale that I’ve tried, but then again, I really haven’t had many at all. Can anyone recommend some others?

And now, here’s a video of me as a baby.

Published in: on October 5, 2011 at 10:41 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/57-baird-angry-boy-brown-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can you get any of the Emerson’s brewer’s reserve stuff up there Al? That picture I sent you the other day was of a limited run brown ale they did that I thought it was rather yummy. I read they only release the brewer’s reserve stuff to certain places and I’m not sure if you’ll get it up there but we’re planning a trip to the brewery and could pick you up some.

    • Yeah I’d love to try that Emerson’s Brownville but so far I’m having no luck finding the brewers reserve stuff up here. If you could pick some up that would be awesome, but how would I get it? can you post riggers?

  2. American Brown Ale style tends to be hoppy, and malty. It’s a cool style when done well.

    email me kieranatregionalwinesdotcodotnz

    I can sell you riggers of Brewers reserves. I send orders up for a group of beer tasters on the North Shore to.

  3. hell! that COULD have been you as a baby. You even looked like that (slightly more beautiful…obviously)


Leave a Reply

