#47 8 Wired – Saison Sauvin

8 Wired Saison SauvinName: Saison Sauvin
Brewery: 8 Wired (Nelson, New Zealand)
Style: Saison
ABV: 7%
Source: Victoria Park New World

It’s Sunday evening (I’m not sure what time exactly – this daylight savings thing always boggles me), and I just got back from a bach at Whatipu on the West Coast.

I spent the weekend with six of my friends – squeezing into caves, eating camp food, squinting at a very smoky bonfire and drinking (mostly) Epic Pale Ales. It was a pretty great time, only slightly hindered by the unwelcome return of the sore throat and blocked-up sinuses that I thought I kicked to the curb two weeks ago.

So, I was in an idyllic setting but less than peak physical condition when I drank Saturday’s beer – a Saison Sauvin by 8 Wired.

You can see it poured a dark golden amber, with a small blue head. Just kidding! That’s an effect of the wonky bach glassware. The head died away almost immediately, which may be because said wonky glassware was a bit dirty.

It smelled… interesting. Belgian yeast, definitely, and hoppy in a way that wasn’t familiar. I guess most of the big-hopped beers that I’ve had so far have used American hops, whereas this beer uses only Sauvin hops from Nelson. They’re obviously quite different, though I’d struggle to define how exactly.

On the tongue the hops were fruity, spicy, and really bitter. It seemed to have some sauvignon blanc characteristics – gooseberries, pine, straw/cut grass  (but I wondered if this was just the name putting ideas in my head) as well as lemon and passionfruit. It was drying (a bit like tonic water) and had a lively carbonation. I think my blocked nose stopped me from tasting and appreciating this one fully, as my overall impression was really just one of zingy bitterness, and I kept wishing it had a bit more malt.  I know I shouldn’t judge a beer after just one (especially not when it’s in a wonky glass) so I’ll give it another go before I make up my mind.

And now it’s time to go and stand in front of my pantry for 20 minutes while I choose my beer for today. See you back here soon!

Published in: on September 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/47-8-wired-saison-sauvin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

