#46 Chimay Blanche

Name: Blanche/Cinq Cents/Tripel
Brewery: Chimay (Belgium)
Style: Abbey Tripel
ABV: 8%
Source: The Grove (Auckland)

OK, to be quite honest this is going to be a dud post. I just drank this Chimay with lunch at The Grove, and I was having such a good time that I totally forgot to make any notes or even think about the flavours I was tasting. I can tell you that it was a bloody nice, and that it had typical Belgian charactaristics – banana, bubblegum, raisins, and a hint of bitterness. I can also confirm that it was relatively easy-drinking for a trappist beer, but strong enough to get me quite tiddly on an empty stomach.

After I drank it I ate some crayfish and quail and pheasant and some other meat that I can’t remember… probably because of the Chimay and the Hallertau Statesman that I had next. God dammit, it was a good lunch.

So that’s that. Apologies for the non-description, but it’s a sunny Friday afternoon and I assume that any beer enthusiasts will be out drinking beer and not reading this blog anyway. I’m off to Whatipu on the West Coast for the weekend now, hopefully via a good liquor store where I can stock up on some treats.

Speaking of treats… How is this for an awesome dessert idea? I’m planning to make one over the weekend: http://philcook.net/beerdiary/2011/04/15/8-wired-istout-ice-cream-float/ – so good!!!

Published in: on September 23, 2011 at 3:36 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/46-chimay-blanche/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I WANT TO GO TO THERE (istout float)


Leave a Reply

