#44 Townshend – Sutton Hoo

Sutton Hoo TownshendName: Sutton Hoo
Brewery: Townshend (Nelson, New Zealand)
Style: Amber Ale
ABV: 4.8%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

Yum! I just took a sip (giant gulp) of this and now I’m trying  really quickly to type before I lose all willpower and knock it back in one go.

This is the first beer from Townshend that I’ve tried and it’s really rather *takes another giant gulp* good. Must type faster!

The aroma is…. Hoppy! It smells like citrus and grass and caramel and … God I really don’t know, I keep drinking it before I can work anything out.

It tastes lovely: flavoursome hops balanced with malt, a soft creamy mouthfeel and a bitter dry finish. I like how it’s not too extreme – the hops are quite delicate, the carbonation is really low – yet it doesn’t leave me wanting in any way. I don’t really need to tell you that it’s quaffable – my 500ml bottle is all but gone.

I feel a bit sad now. I don’t think Townshend are still making this beer so I probably won’t have another one ever. Worse, I’ll never have it on tap which is where I reckon this beer would really shine. Oh, this beer tasting is a cruel, cruel business sometimes…

[UPDATE: Woohoo! Apparently Martin Townshend is still making this and there’s some on the hand-pull at Hop Garden (Wellington) RIGHT NOW! There should be some on at Malthouse in the next few weeks, so I’m hoping I can catch the last few drops when I go down for the Pacific Beer Expo.]

Published in: on September 21, 2011 at 7:14 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/44-townshend-sutton-hoo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Alice! I’m really glad I found your blog, thoroughly enjoying it. It’s inspiring me to drink more beer. Which is always a good thing. Also, Sutton Hoo is apparently (according to Twitter, as of an hour ago) now pouring at the Hop Garden. If I hadn’t already been in pyjamas I would’ve gone to check it out. Maybe tomorrow, if it’s still there!

    • Yeah I heard, great news! Hopefully there’s some on tap somewhere when I come down for the Pacific Beer Expo next month. You should come along to that too!

  2. Sutton Hoo is a favourite of mine too. Martin does some good beer!!

    • Yeah I was really impressed, can’t wait to try the rest 🙂

  3. It seems you already know, but I checked with Martin. Sutton Hoo is an on going brew. Batch 7 is being brewed tomorrow.

    • That’s great – it isn’t on his website so I thought it was finished. Thanks again for picking out such a good selection by the way – I’ll be down in Wellington on Labour weekend so hopefully you can help me choose some more!

      • Your welcome.

        Martin brews lots of bits and pieces that arnt on the website!

  4. I wish I’d been more of a beer geek before I left NZ. Your posts are making me want to come home and drink all the things!

    I think Canadian (Macro) beer is so bad that it forced me into it. Also, it could be that the local Craft Beer is so damned good that I don’t see the point in macro any more.

    • Yeah I feel the same way about leaving Wellington! (Although Auckland is catching up :))
      That’s got me thinking… I don’t think I’ve ever tried any Canadian beer – do you have any recommendations from this list?: http://tinyurl.com/4xkv22w

      • My last night in Wellington was my first proper night at Hashigo Zake, it saddens me that I didn’t go there sooner. Though I did regularly attend sessions at the Malthouse 😉

        Well the first 7 are gross macro brews and I can’t speak for the others unfortunately.

        I do have a friend from Auckland coming to visit soon, I’ll see if I can send back a couple of goodies with him 🙂

      • That said, I’ve heard good things about Unibroue.

  5. Unibroue are great. Hashigo’s beer store has some goodies check out

    http://www.cultbeerstore.co.nz/collections/dieu-du-ciel

    Cheers

  6. […] Enjoy: it’s a bowlful of health. If you’re not good at feeling virtuous, offset with whatever unhealthy thing you feel necessary (for me, it was a bottle of Townshend Sutton Hoo I sought out after reading this). […]


Leave a Reply

