#43 Baird – Rising Sun Pale Ale

Baird Pale Ale Name: Rising Sun
Brewery: Baird (Numazu, Shizuoka, Japan)
Style: American Pale Ale
ABV: 5.1%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

I know my beer photos aren’t great at the best of times, but I have to apologise for the sudden dive that they’ve taken since my phone went flat (this one is from Photo Booth). Hopefully I’ll get my charger tomorrow and the pics will be back to their usual mediocre standard!

So today’s beer was from Japan, which is a bit exciting because a) Japan rocks and b) I’ve had hardly any beers from there. I chose to drink it tonight because I thought it might be nice to write a post with a clear head for once, and this was the only beer in my ever-growing stockpile that wasn’t going to knock me on my arse.

It poured a nice hazy golden colour with a big foamy head, which is my favourite way for a beer to look. I know some people like their beer to be as clear as crystal, but personally I think there’s something rustic and appetizing about a bit of cloud.

It smelled nice – slightly floral and soapy, with citrusy (orange I think) and herby hops. The taste was similar, but less sweet than I was expecting and with a lot of bitterness at the finish. It was really clean, dry, and refreshing, with subtler flavours than other APA’s I’ve had recently (Tuatara & Anchor), making it really easy-drinking stuff. Since I’ve finished it and I can focus on the letters as I type for once, I actually wish I had another one…

This beer was bought to you (or to me, really) by Hashigo Zake, Kieran at Regionals, and my mum. Thanks to all!

Published in: on September 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/44-baird-rising-sun-pale-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is amazing on tap.


Leave a Reply

