#42 Pink Elephant – Trumpet

Pink Elephant TrumpetName: Trumpet
Brewery: Pink Elephant (Blenheim, New Zealand)
Style: Barley Wine
ABV: 10.4%
Source: Forrest Hill Liquorland

As those who know me can probably guess, I chose this one because of its name. My boyfriend plays the trumpet for a living (yep, you can do that!) and so it’s an instrument that I listen to a lot. In fact even as I type he’s downstairs giving a lesson to an 8-year-old boy, who is playing a rather grating rendition of “Summertime”.

The only way to deal with this kind of cacophony is to get drunk, and that’s exactly what I am after drinking this  10.4% beer before dinner.

This is my first ever beer from Pink Elephant, my first ever Barley Wine, and I think it’s the strongest beer that I’ve had on my blog so far. Given all those firsts this should really be a pretty comprehensive post, but I’m just too drunk to do it properly.

The aroma was sweet and not easily undefinable – lollies, bannoffie pie, something a bit Belgium. The taste was really sweet at first, then strong, alcoholic, fruity and slightly sour. Something about it reminded me of the Moinette Biologique – probably because it had a slight candyfloss/gewurtz vibe to it.

OK, I actually just took a two hour break because I was feeling too pissed to keep writing. My conclusion is that while it was kinda yum, it was just a bit too boozy for a wee lass like me.

On the plus side, the 8-year-old boy has gone from our garage and my favourite Auckland band, Bannerman are rehearsing instead. Check them out!

Published in: on September 19, 2011 at 9:47 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/42-pink-elephant-trumpet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow that must be a seriously old bottle. Trumpet hasnt around for sometime, couple of years I think.
    Definitly Belgian character, last time Roger brewed it he used a Belgian trappist yeast and honey.
    it’s a pretty left field Barley Wine (nothing wrong with that) so don’t judge the whole style on this one.

    • Oh yeah? Glad I found one in that case! I have another Barley Wine (Anchor’s) that you picked out for mum, so I’m looking forward to trying that and hopefully gaging a better idea of the style.


Leave a Reply

