#35 Invercargill Brewery – Sa!son

Invercargill Brewery Sa!sonName: Sa!son
Brewery: Invercargill Brewery (Invercargill, New Zealand)
Style: Saison
ABV: 6.5%
Source: Forrest Hill Liquorland

This is my second ever Saison, and I must admit I’m none-the-wiser about what this style should taste like because it is 100% different to the last one I tried (Dupont Moinette Biologique).

What I do know is that both of them have been lovely, and I’m incredibly pleased that DB didn’t follow through with their attempt to trademark the name Saison, because that could have meant less of this style being produced in NZ.

This one poured a clear, golden colour – like a pale whiskey – and had a small white head that didn’t hang around. On the nose I got freshly squeezed OJ, marmalade, and candied sugar. On the tongue it was the same, but with a spicy dry bitterness that made it clean and refreshing.

It was only after it started to warm up that I realised how Belgian it tasted. What is it that makes something taste Belgian? What’s the official word for it? Is it funk? And should I start Googling things instead of lazily posing my questions to readers?

This beer would be absolutely gorgeous on a stinking hot day in summer, although it’s also pretty good next to the heater in my room. I don’t love it quite as much as the Moinette Biologique – but seriously, that shit was off the hook.

A final word on the name… I suppose if DB had followed through with trademarking the name Saison then “Sa!son” could have been a sneaky way of getting around it. Perhaps someone should make a R@dler?

PS: I got this from Forrest Hill Liquorland and it was great. If you live in Auckland then I highly recommend you go get yourself some treats!

[Update: Apparently DB Did actually trademark the name Saison, they just dropped it later. Dicks.]

Published in: on September 12, 2011 at 6:15 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/35-invercargill-brewery-sason/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. DB did actually trademark Saison, but they let it lapse a year or so back.

    • Ahh I see. I’ve updated the post accordingly.


Leave a Reply

