#31 Feral Hop Hog

Feral Hop HogName: Hop Hog
Brewery: Feral Brewing Company (Swan Valley, WA, Australia)
Style: IPA
ABV: 5.8%
Sourc:, McCoppins, Fitzroy, Melbourne

Yes, yes, yes, YES!

No, I’m not using Herbal Essenses, I’m just finally drinking the kind of beer that I’ve been craving for days.

I’m a few sips into the Hop Hog, and I’m pleased to report that it is in fact hoppy. Not in that sweet, tropical fruit-bowl (Hopwired) kinda way, but in a bitter, grapefruity citrus piney kinda way. (I never said I was good at descriptions.)

What else? It has a crisp mouthfeel, a dry finish, and a nice sweet/bitter balance that makes it sessionable/easy to quaff.

OK, so I’m about halfway through it now… And I think that I must be getting a bit fussier as this blog goes on, because now I’m thinking that it could use a few more hops and that while the aroma is great the taste could be just a tad more exciting.

Overall I think this is great – definitely one of the best Australian beers I’ve tried – and I think New Zealanders would definitely dig it. I’m not a huge fan of the label, but hey, I went to work this morning with an inside-out cardigan and a giant hole in my stockings so who am I to judge?

Published in: on September 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/31-feral-hop-hog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] – In defense of Feral, they clearly know how to make a good beer. I say bypass this for the Hop Hog, which is magic! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Published […]


Leave a Reply

