#29 Grand Ridge Mirboo Madness

Grand Ridge Mirboo MadnessName: Mirboo Madness
Brewery: Grand Ridge (Mirboo North, VIC, Australia)
Style: American Red Ale
ABV: 6.0%
Source: McCoppins (Fitzroy, Melbourne)

It’s day 2 of Australia week, and I’ve just finished a bottle of “Mirboo Madness” – a beer which describes itself on the (somewhat cluttered) label as a “huge, hop driven red ale.”

I love really hoppy beers (see my background? One of my friends thought they were cabbages. They are not.) and have heard good things about the Red Ale style. I was therefore gearing myself up for another beer crush.

It poured a hazy red amber with a small white head. The aroma was really lovely – hoppy and honey-driven, with a bit of cereal or nuttiness on top.

The flavours I smelled came through in the taste, but were dulled down and disguised somewhat by bitterness. It was… quite nice, but not the hop explosion I had been anticipating. There was actually something  a little frustrating about it  – it started off so well, but then left me feeling unsatisfied. I think it was a little watery and needed a bit more punch if you know what I mean.

I also really wanted to use the term “dry as a dead dingo’s donga,” but this wasn’t the right beer for that, sadly.

Oh well. This beer didn’t quite do it for me, but according to Ratebeer it did it for everyone else. Maybe I’m just turning into an insatiable Hop Zombie?

Published in: on September 6, 2011 at 8:05 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/29-grand-ridge-mirboo-madness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

