#27 Yeastie Boys Hud-a-Wa

Yeastie Boys Hud-a-WaName: Hud-a-Wa
Brewery: Yeastie Boys (Wellington, New Zealand)
Style: English Strong Ale
ABV: 6.8%
Source: Galbraith’s Ale House (Mt Eden, AK)

Oh God. Drunk. Too drunk to be blogging, too drunk to have work at 9am tomorrow. Powering on anyway…

Tonight I’ve been at Galbraith’s. Probably my second favourite place in Auckland after my own bed, I’ve decided. I had lots of great beers, and a bloody delicious dinner of roast pork belly with all the trimmings – even Yorkshire pudding!

As you can see I’m actually in my beer photo tonight, looking a bit blurry and awkward – but it’s for a good reason. Notice that I am wearing red trousers – a symbolic gesture which should resonate deeply with Yeastie Boys fans the world over, and mean absolutely nothing to everyone else.

Tonight I had a Hud-a-Wa – the amber ale with the sassy pink electric magenta label. The aroma was slightly musty, like an old bookshop, but in a good way. It was strong, bitter, and gutsy as hell. It had a crisp, assertive mouthfeel (since when can a mouthfeel be assertive you ask? Like I said I’m drunk), a nice restrained sweetness, and a dry finish that kept me thirsty for more.

After my Hud-a-Wa I had an 8 Wired Superconductor, a Yeastie Boys Weemix, some Mata Taniwha and a taste of four different Galbraith beers. That’s why I can’t write so good, and why I’m cutting this post short to get some much-needed sleep. Goodnight!

Published in: on September 4, 2011 at 10:05 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/27-yeastie-boys-hud-a-wa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Magenta.

  2. If you say so.

  3. don’t mind him, he’s an anti-pinkite

  4. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magenta

    See electric magenta…

    • Fine! I have updated the post!


Leave a Reply

