#21 Brasserie Dupont Moinette Biologique

Moinette Biologique Name: Moinette Biologique
Brewery: Brasserie Dupont (Tourpes-Leuze, Belgium)
Style: Saison
ABV: 7.5%
Source: The Beer Store

I think this was my first ever Saison and I think… (surprise surprise)… I’m in love.

I love everything about this beer. The name for starters:  Moinette Bioloque. It’s just begging to be whispered out loud. Don’t fight it.

The pour is a slightly hazy warm amber, with a foamy white head – just the way I like it. The aroma seemed quite typically Belgian to me… yeasty, fruity – banana especially – with a bit of spice.

After I took a sip I went “Woah!” which, while not that uncommon for me, means I will remember it forever. I have a list of “woah-beers” in my head, which are usually the first examples I’ve tried of a particular style – like the 2008 Smokin’ Bishop, or my first Orval… But I’m getting off topic.

It’s bloody lovely! It tasted of banana, apple, orange, yeast of course, and quite strongly of candyfloss, which dominated the aftertaste. It sounds full-on but it’s not – there’s a bit of dry bitterness which balances out the sweet, and all the flavours are quite delicate and perfectly harmonised. The mouthfeel is nice, quite light and smooth and doesn’t leave you wanting

Whenever I try a beer I really like I always force it on those around me. Here’s what they had to say:

Olivia: “I don’t even know what to say about that, except that it’s delicious.”
Hollie: “It’s like the Gewurztraminer of beer.”
Jerry: “That’s yummy.”

I can sense a bit of an obsession, an obsaison if you will (oh yes I did), coming on. What’s your favourite Saison and where can I find it?

PS – I was a bit rushed/lazy and didn’t put any information about this brewery or what a Saison is – luckily someone else has already done a good job here at Beer from the Motherland.

Published in: on August 30, 2011 at 10:12 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/21-brasserie-dupont-moinette-biologique/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. New World in Victoria Park still had some bottles of Invercargill Brewery Sa!son at the weekend – a saison with NZ hops. Yum. Get it while you can, it’s only released once a year in the autumn.

  2. Cheers for the link. I helped your mum select some beers on the weekend, I hope you like them.

    • Oh that was you! Sounds like you picked some great stuff. I should have them all in a couple of weeks – can’t wait!

  3. Probably the trendiest beer in NZ at the moment…

    The aforementioned Invercargill Sa!son – they have stopped making it this year, so pick it up while you can.

    As well as this there are a couple of current ones around:
    * 8 Wired Saison Sauvin (like Hopwired with funk)
    * Yeastie Boys Her Majesty 2011 (disclaimer – that’s mine!)

    We also did a fun little sessionable red saison in collaboration with 8 Wired and Renaissance. Rescue Red – ingredients donated and all profits to relief for Chch quakes and QLD floods.

    Regional Wines and Spirits usually have a few Belgian ones.

    Before then, in NZ, we had:
    * Monteith’s Saison a few years back, (they even trademarked it for a while)
    * Mac’s Log Burner did a much maligned one
    * Hallertau occasionally do a lovely, very funky, dry saison
    * Mussel Inn have one on tap now and then

    8 Wired and Cock & Bull also did black saisons for BrewNZ’s festive category…

    Cheers
    Stu

    • Does this make me trendy for liking it? or uncool for being so late to the party?!
      Thanks for the comprehensive list. I’m keeping my eyes peeled for Her Majesty!

      • Nah.. trendy probably wasn’t the right word. Popular might have been better.

        It’s certainly nothing to be frowned at. I think any good beer with an interesting yeast character is worth celebrating… I’ve been thinking, for quite some time, that our beer scene (for all its great beers) is a little bit generic in the yeast department. But there is too much to go into there than I can sum up in a single comment on a blog!

        And as for being late to the party. No way – this party’s kicking on forever. People are welcome to turn up any time…

  4. I have been musing on the same point Stu.

  5. […] This is my second ever Saison, and I must say I’m none-the-wiser about what this style should taste like because it is 100% different to the last one I tried (Dupont Moinette Biologique). […]

  6. […] of these should taste like. I fell head over heels for that gorgeous floral/candyfloss version by Dupont, but since then I’ve felt like I’m just chasing the […]

  7. […] not the “Best Beer in the World”, or at least not my favourite.  I actually like the Biologique (which I should have mentioned, is from the same brewery) even […]


Leave a Reply

