#18 8 Wired The Big Smoke

8 Wired The Big Smoke Name: The Big Smoke
Brewer: 8 Wired (Brewed at Renaissance Brewing)
Style: Smoked Porter
ABV: 6.2%
Source: Brew on Quay

Honestly. I think I’m going to have to drink a Double Brown tomorrow just to prove I can write a post that isn’t littered with exclamation marks and the word “delicious”.

As for The Big Smoke… it’s delicious!!!

After getting all kinds of ecstatic over 8 Wired’s IPA yesterday, I couldn’t wait more than a day to try this one. I met my sister at Brew on Quay on my lunch break today and told her she had to drink a beer with me and she wasn’t allowed to choose it.

The Big Smoke poured a really dark reddy brown with a small tan head. I tasted hints of dark chocolate and a smoky beach bonfire (in the distance), with a little dry bitterness at the end. Maybe it was all the dark wood around me, but there was something lovely and rustic about it. I’ll definitely be buying this again!

It was nice to finally get to Brew on Quay, which I’d been meaning to do for a while. I love how it has sections which are partitioned off, giving it a real classic English pub feel.  They had a fantastic range of bottled beer and a few good craft beers on tap, one of which I actually sampled… but it would be breaking the rules to talk about it!

This is a slightly rushed post as I’m leaving for the opening night of my play in 10 minutes. Have a great weekend everyone, I’ll be here tomorrow… and not really drinking Double Brown.

Published in: on August 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/18-8-wired-the-big-smoke/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I;m looking forward to tomorrow’s exclamation marks. The more exclamation marks you type, the better I feel!

  2. Really enjoying the blog and glad you enjoyed the pub. Keep up the good work!! Team at Breon Quay

    • Opps I mean Brew on Quay

      • Thanks BOQ (can I call you BOQ?), you guys are cool. Looking forward to my next visit, which hopefully won’t be in the middle of a work day!

  3. I had a Double Brown for the first time in many years a couple of weeks back. It was disappointingly pale and bland. The only thing double about it was the overwhelming feeling of being let down once again by big brew marketing.


Leave a Reply

