#13 Ben Middlemiss Nota Bene

Ben Middlemiss Nota BeneName: Nota Bene
Brewer: Ben Middlemiss (Manukau, New Zealand)
Style: Belgian Abbey Ale
ABV: 8.7%
Source: Glengarry Ponsonby

I have just taken about 3 sips of this and there’s a lovely warm alcohol feeling at the back of my throat. That warm alcohol feeling is telling me that I better start typing quickly because if I wait until the end of the beer then my post will be gibberish.

This one’s a bit exciting for me because I’ve never had a Ben Middlemiss beer before. I picked it up at Glengarry’s today – and I’m going to be honest here – mostly because it came in a small bottle, and when you need to buy a craft beer every day, small bottles are very appealing.

I’m really glad I did though! It’s quite surprising – a Belgian-style abbey ale with heaps going on. It’s fruity (oranges, apples and cherries?), yeasty, sweet-but-not-too-sweet, and has a pleasing sour tang at the finish, along with that lovely alcohol heat. The aroma is beautiful, like sticking my nose in a dollar mix bag of sour lollies and bananas, along with something really savoury that I can’t quite put my finger on.

It’s too late to figure it out now because I’ve just polished it off, and although I’m feeling significantly drunker, I can’t help but wish it was a big bottle after all…

Published in: on August 21, 2011 at 5:31 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/13-ben-middlemiss-nota-bene/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the description of the aroma, I knew almost exactly what you meant (obviously only almost because you couldn’t place the savoury flavour).

    As a suggestion, you should look into signing up at http://www.untappd.com it’s a site that allows you to check into beers like you do locations on 4square. Pretty cool and good to keep track of what you’re drinking. Also pursuing the badges makes you try beers you otherwise wouldn’t have, even though it’s largely geared towards the US.

  2. Thanks Matthew, I’ll check that site out out.
    As for that savoury flavour… I read some other reviews of Nota Bene afterwards and saw that someone had picked up on blue cheese. I think that might have been it!


Leave a Reply

