#12 Hallertau Statesman

Hallertau StatesmanName: Statesman
Brewer: Hallertau
Style: Pale Ale
ABV: 5.3%
Source: Glengarry Ponsonby

Today’s beer (OK, yesterday’s beer actually, I had a few too many to file a post before bed) is not only delicious, but one of the best-dressed kids in town in my opinion. I mean look at that label. How effortlessly cool is it? How industrial-chic? And have you seen 1,2,3, and 4 together? If I was a beer on the shelf next to them I’d want to rush home and change…

So this one is actually called the Hallertau Statesman, but is better known by it’s original name, number 2, hence the giant number 2 on the label. Can you see it?

The Statesman pours a slightly hazy golden colour with an off-white head. I feel  a bit like a broken record when I say I tasted primarily zesty, grapefruity hops, and also a little note of honey. Hopefully by the end of this 365 day journey to beer enlightenment I’ll be able to name at least 6 other charactaristics, but I’m nowhere near there yet. I thought the sweet/bitter balance was just right, which, along with the tasty flavours, made it dangerously quaffable.

An aside – Can any Aucklanders recommend liquor outlets or bars up here that might sell beers that I couldn’t find at Victoria Park New World? They have the biggest range that I’ve seen but I wondered if there might be some more unusual beers anywhere else.

Published in: on August 21, 2011 at 4:03 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/12-hallertau-statesman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hallertau’s Maximus Humulus Lupulus is a pretty amazing IPA. And an expensive one at that.

  2. Check out Village Winery in Mt Eden, small but impressive and often changing offering of craft beer.

    • Thanks for the tip James, will do!

  3. New World Vic Park will give you a range of beers you can’t buy anywhere else. But also try Newmarket Liquorland, Kingsland Liquor Centre, Herne Bay Cellars, Wine Circle (in Huapai), the English Corner Store (for English beers obviously.)
    Next month’s issue of Metro has a feature on drinking beer in Auckland, but while I focus on more mainstream beers, I also recommend a few bars that offer different ranges.

    • Thanks Paul, look forward to reading your Metro article.

  4. Check out the brewers guild website:

    http://brewersguild.org.nz/beer-loving-bottlos#auckland

  5. […] and some other meat that I can’t remember… probably because of the Chimay and the Hallertau Statesman that I had next. God dammit, it was a good […]


Leave a Reply

