#5 Moa Breakfast

Moa Breakfast Beer Name: Breakfast
Brewer: Moa (Blenheim, New Zealand)
Style: Breakfast lager
ABV: 5.5%

Five days in and I can already see how difficult this Beer for a Year thing will be to pull off. I’m tired, hungover, and frankly the last thing I want to do is drink a beer right now. Coffee for a Year, anyone?

Luckily I picked up this Moa “Breakfast” last night in preparation, thinking it must be the equivalent of an alcoholic Up’n’Go. I know nothing about it beyond the title, but from that I can assume that it’s going to be good for me.

*goes to fridge, pops cork on Moa, cork hits cat who is too fat and lazy to react. Pours glass and sips.*

Oh wow, yum! It tastes like Turkish delight and marshmallow and flowery soap and… something else… *reads bottle* … Ahh yes of course – it’s made with cherries! I very rarely order fruit beers as I’ve found them to be a bit sweet in the past, but this is much lighter than kriek and very, very easy to drink. And the Aroma – it’s heavenly! *pours a second glass*

if I was the kind of person who threw ladies lunches in her garden, and I like to think one day I might be , then I wouldn’t think twice before serving this. It’s the perfect thing for a summer afternoon, or indeed, a hangover.

And for no real reason other that I am, I recommend listening to some Peter Sarstedt while you drink it.

(If you need a reason, then the fancy lady he’s singing about would probably like this beer.)

Published in: on August 13, 2011 at 3:28 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/5-moa-breakfast/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

