#3 Galbraith Munich Lager

Galbraith Munich Lager Brewer: Galbraith
Name: Munich (Auckland, New Zealand)
Style: Munich Lager
Alcohol: 5%

Generally I’m not a huge fan of lagers, but that’s probably because nearly all those I’ve tried have been of the mass-produced international variety (Heineken, Stella, Carlsberg etc) which are a bit like sweet soda water only they cost heaps.

This blog is all about trying new things though, and when I saw that Mezze Bar on Little High St was selling a lager by Galbraith I decided it would be the perfect thing to cut through the mounds of greasy tapas me and Olivia ordered for lunch.

Olivia drinking a Munich Lager

My sister Olivia and her GML

And so it proved to be. The Munich Lager was crisp and refreshing, with a light malty sweetness and a lovely bitter edge. Apparently it’s brewed with from imported Moravian malt and German noble hops, which may explain why I had a sudden urge to throw my dirndl on (yes, I once bought one in Bavaria – everyone was wearing them) and climb to the top of a grassy mountain.

An aside about Galbraith’s Ale House on Mt Eden Rd. This is, I think, one of the best places to drink beer in Auckland. Occupying a large green and red building that used to be the Gratfon Library, Gailbraith’s is a warm, quiet, and comfortable brewpub which feels like an English pub might have before the existence of pool tables and pokie machines. It’s the kind of place you could wile away a rainy Sunday afternoon, engaging in quiet conversation that descends into gibberish as you sample the many fine beers on offer. I haven’t actually done this properly as I am lacking beer-geek friends in Auckland (hey, you wanna be one? Please?) but I often fantasise.

PS – Yeastie Boys Rex Attitude is chilling in the fridge for tomorrow! I’ve had Rex once before but I’m still a bit nervous. Will it be as good as last time? Will my friends like him? If I take him to a party will he start a fight? Stay tuned!

Published in: on August 11, 2011 at 3:46 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/11/3-galbraith-munich-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Name: Vasta’s Velvet Brewery: Galbraith Brewing Co. & Carl Vasta (head brewer at Tuatara) Style: Cask Conditioned Stout ABV: 6% Source: Galbraith’s Alehouse […]


Leave a Reply

