#2 Anchor Liberty Ale

Anchor Liberty Ale

Name: Liberty Ale
Brewer: Anchor Brewing Company (San Fransisco, U.S.A)
Style: American Pale Ale
ABV: 6%

I really should have saved this beer for the fourth of July. You can’t see it that clearly in my lazy iPhotograph, but the label on Liberty Ale features a bald eagle clutching hops and barley perched atop a shield emblazoned with stars and stripes. If that’s not enough, the Liberty Ale was first brewed on April 18 (my birthday, huzzah!) 1975 to commemorate some ride by some famous patriot in the American Revolution.

Although I usually have a knee-jerk reaction to any form of patriotism, I love the vintage, slightly cutesy look of all Anchor labels, as well as their unique bottle shapes. If I was the beer-bottle collecting type, I would definetely hang on to these guys.

And the beer. Now, I’m just a baby fawn taking my first shaky steps into the world of beer tasting, so you’ll have to excuse me if my notes are a bit weak. As you can see it poured a slightly cloudy amber colour with a small white head.  After sniffing the beer for a long time and shouting “It’s like… it’s just like… Something!” at my frightened flatmate I just gave up and took a sip. Then I wrote down:

  • Grapefruit Marmalade
  • Slightly burnt toffee
  • Hint of manuka honey
  • America, F**k Yeah!

I could definitely see myself drinking more of this beer in the summer. It’s refreshing, slightly malty, and has a bit of hoppy zing, though it doesn’t last long. Somehow the name, the label and the backstory made me think this would be punchier, but instead I thought it was quite delicate and fairly easy drinking.

Anchor Liberty Ale – I salute you!

Published in: on August 10, 2011 at 11:40 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/2-anchor-liberty-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

