#179 Emerson’s Pilsner

Emerson's Pilsner

Photo pinched from philcook.net/beerdiary

Name: Pilsner
Brewery: Emerson’s (Dunedin, New Zealand)
Style: Pilsner
ABV: 4.4%
Source: Richmond Road liquor store

Sweet baby jesus this is a good beer.

This is, I think, the first interesting beer I ever tasted. I don’t remember exactly how old I was, but I have a feeling I was dressed like I was ready to go to war (I was going through a Drum ‘n’ Bass phase at the time), so I’d guess about 16.

I remember being blown away at how fruity it was. I didn’t realise it at the time, but I was having my first proper encounter with hops (I would learn what they were a few years later, with the arrival of Epic Pale Ale). It was fruity and yet not too sweet, refreshing and crisp and terribly moreish (which is a pain when you’re broke and underage.)

These days I find it more delicious than ever. While I’ve had loads more hoppy beers over the years, I still find it’s fresh fruit salad (tropical fruit, citrus and passionfruit) taste really unique. I love the balance too – a hint of honey sweetness with a lasting bitter finish.

I also like the label. The mountain makes it seem all fresh and clean and actually healthy, which in turn makes me think I can just drink one of these instead of going for a run. (Did I tell you I’m trying to take up running in order to counter beer consumption? It’s not going well.)

PS – Apologies Phil Cook for stealing your photo.  I’m on Waiheke and the photo I took is trapped on my computer at home. Also yours is better.

 

Published in: on February 5, 2012 at 6:07 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/179-emersons-pilsner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. For people who got stuck in the Drum ‘n’ Bass phase for a while, one of the best things about Bath St in Dunedin (outside of the awesome staff and amazing sound system) was the $4 pints of this and $2 pints on Wednesday nights. Ridiculous.

    • Don’t I know it! I used to spend 4 nights a week there in my first year… How I passed anything is a complete mystery.

      • Ahhh the nostalgia!

        I actually can’t drink this beer without getting flashbacks.

  2. I have been in my drum and bass phase since ’92, thinks its more than a phase now. All Emerson’s beers are fantastic so I best find a Pils here in Oz and drink some


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

